Posted in Discover Challenges, Non Fiction

Performance

Performance: Ingrained within my soul

One of my favourite activities, which I am also lucky enough to call my career, is performance.

Performing can be described as a display of entertainment using a variety of art forms; including, spoken words, musical notes and dance. As a performer, I specifically enjoy focusing on the disciplines of acting and singing.

There are many reasons why I love performance; however, it is not for the reasons many people think. No, it’s not for the fame and it is also definitely not for the money. Around one percent of performers are actually earning a top bracket wage within their chosen field; the rest are in low income work or are currently unemployed.

I am one of those unknown entertainers, and frankly, I really don’t care! Yes, recognition for my craft would be nice but the main reason I do what I do is for the love, the truth, and the passion; for those moments when I am on stage; the curtains open, the lights hit, and the magic begins. For those brief moments in time when I become the character and get to live another life; it’s the adrenaline rush that happens before, during, and after a performance, and knowing each time is new, fresh, and unique. Having an opportunity to entertain an audience, to communicate a story, an idea, a perspective, and to have that audience invest in everything I am saying, everything I am doing, and the emotions I am expressing.

However, there really is only one true way to express why I enjoy performance on such a passionate, deep, and personal level. The reason simply is, that I can’t imagine myself not being on stage, and not having the opportunity to feel the electric atmosphere.

Performance is ingrained within my soul, and it will remain there forever.

Author:

Actor, singer, writer. Artistic Director/Owner of Purple Cast Productions. Loves theatre, films, reading and keeping fit. Member of The Writers Bureau and Slimming World.

2 thoughts on “Performance

Leave a Reply

